2022 Faculty Awards & Fellowships

These are the awards and fellowships for 2022. Click the side menu links to view awards and fellowships from previous years.

Nicole Leeper Piquero, Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology and Criminology, was selected as a Fellow of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. The Academy Fellow Award recognizes a distinguished contribution to justice education and scholarship. Dr. Piquero will receive the award in March 2023 at the annual meeting in Washington, DC. She also served as president of ACJS in 2017-2018.

Dr. Michael Alessandri, Professor of Psychology, was named the 2022 Distinguished Alumnus by the University of Rochester School of Arts and Sciences. The award recognizes graduates of the School of Arts & Sciences whose exceptional professional achievements, contributions to their chosen field, and service to their alma mater have brought honor to themselves and to the University of Rochester. 

Dr. Annette M. La Greca, Professor of Psychology, was awarded the 2022 Distinguished Research Award from the American Educational Research Association for her research on trauma responses in youth following natural disasters, particularly hurricanes. (with B.S. Lai, PhD, A. Brincks, PhD, C.A. Colgan, MA, M.P. D’Amico, MPH, S. Lowe, PhD, and M.L. Kelley, PhD.). The article appeared in JAMA Open Network - Traiectories of Posttraumatic Stress in Youths After Natural Disasters. 

Dr. Maria Magdalena Llabre, Professor of Psychology, received the 2022 Outstanding Service Award from the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research (ABMR) at the annual Healthy Aging Across the Lifespan: The Role of Socioeconomic Status Meeting. 

Dominique Kirchner Reill, Professor of History, has accepted a fellowship at the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg (HWK) Institute of Advanced Study in Germany. The fellowship offers scientists the opportunity to focus on research and exchange ideas with colleagues from other disciplines. HWK promotes scholarship and research in the natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

Dr. Jill Ehrenreich-May, Professor of Psychology, was installed as the President of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT) in November. ABCT is a multidisciplinary organization committed to the enhancement of health and well-being by advancing the scientific understanding, assessment, prevention, and treatment of human problems through the global application of behavioral, cognitive, and biological evidence-based principles. 

Professor Nicole Leeper Piquero and Professor Olena Antonaccio, both in the Department of Sociology, received an Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) Outstanding Mentor Award. Outstanding mentors are honored in recognition of their role of student/faculty mentor as evidenced by their willingness and commitment to foster the professional growth and achievement of students and faculty. 

Professor in the Department of Modern Languages of Literatures Yolanda Martinez-San Miguel was selected as a Fulbright U.S. Scholar for 2022-2023. Fulbright Scholar Awards are prestigious and competitive fellowships that provide unique opportunities for scholars to teach and conduct research abroad. Fulbright scholars also play a critical role in U.S. public diplomacy, establishing long-term relationships between people and nations.

Xavier Cortada, Professor of Practice in the Department of Art and Art History, was selected to receive a 2022 Creative Capital Award, one of 50 selected from among 4,000 artists’ applications. The $50,000 award will help fund The Underwater, the next evolution of Cortada's Underwater HOA project.

Assistant Professor of English Marina Magloire was awarded a 2022 ACLS Sustaining Public Engagement Grant, supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) as part of the American Rescue Plan Sustaining the Humanities through the American Rescue Plan (SHARP) initiative.

Lindsay Thomas, associate professor in the English Department, was awarded this year’s Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present (ASAP) 2022 Book Prize, for her book, Training for Catastrophe: Fictions of National Security after 9/11.

Dr. Matt Nelsen, an assistant professor in the Department of Political Science, was a fellow winner of the APSA Schattschneider Award honoring his winning dissertation on American politics entitled, "Educating for Empowerment: Race, Socialization, and Reimagining Civic Education." This recent accomplishment is the third from APSA. Dr. Nelson has accepting best dissertation awards from the Political Psychology and Education Politics & Policy sections last year.

Dr. Michael Alessandri, Executive Director of the University of Miami-Nova Southeastern University Center for Autism and Related Disabilities (UM-NSU CARD), was recently honored as a Distinguished Alumnus by his Alma Mater, the University of Rochester. The award recognizes his career at the University of Miami. Dr. Alessandri has been a professor at UM since 1996 and has worked with individuals with autism and their families since 1981 in various capacities. 

Thomas Lynn Curtright, Professor of Physics recently received the Arts and Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Missouri in honor of his accomplishments in the field. The award was presented to Professor Curtright at the Arts and Sciences Week Reception during Arts and Science Week 2022 in March 2022. 

Dr. Simon Howarddirector of the Psychology of Racism, Identity, Diversity, and Equity (PRIDE) research lab, received the 2022 Michele Alexander Early Career Award from the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues. Dr. Howard is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology.