2020 Faculty Awards and Fellowships

Click the following links to view awards and fellowships from previous years: 201920182017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012. 

Orlando Acevedo, Chair of the South Florida Section of the American Chemical Society

Orlando Acevedo, 2020 American Chemical Society Chemistry Luminary Award for events of the South Florida Section of the Society

Ivan Albrecht, Juror's Choice Award, 12th Annual International Competition, Archie Bray Foundation for the Ceramic Arts, Helena, Montana (USA)

Robin Bachin, Charlton W. Tebeau Associate Professor of History and the Assistant Provost for Civic and Community Engagement, received a 2020 Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award. Dr. Bachin also received the following grants: U-LINK Social Equity Grant, Miami-Dade County Public Housing and Community Development Grant, Andrew W. Mellon CREATE Grant, and a JPMorgan Chase Grant.

Sierra Bainter, Assistant Professor of Psychology, received a Mentored Research Scientist Career Development (K01) Award from NIMH.

Stephen Cantrell, Professor, and Chair of the Department of Mathematics received the James W. McLamore Award.

Nico Cappelluti, Assistant Professor of Physics, was nominated to represent the University of Miami for the 2021 Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists internal Limited Submission Competition. The approved disciplinary category is Physical Sciences & Engineering.

Sumita Chatterjee, Lecturer of History, received a Mellon CREATE grant and is part of a UM interdisciplinary faculty team that received the U-Link Racial Equity grant for 2020-21.

Cali Curley, Assistant Professor of Political Science, was selected as the winner of the 4th Annual Voinovich Public Innovation Challenge. The Voinovich Public Innovation Challenge is co-sponsored by NASPAA and Ohio University’s Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs.

Jill Ehrenreich-May, Elected President, Association for Behavioral & Cognitive Therapies

Ken Feeley, Associate Professor of Biology, received the UM Faculty Mentor of the Year.

M. Evelina Galang was Zalaznick Distinguished Visiting Writer at Cornell University in Spring 2020.

Mauro Galetti, Top 1% most cited researchers in ecology and environment (Clarivate Analytics)

Krista Goff, Assistant Professor of History, received an Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies First Book Subvention Award. Dr. Goff also received US-Russia Foundation funding for a project titled, "Building a More Inclusive Future: Diversifying the Field of Russian and Slavic Studies."

Tom Goodman is Executive Director of the New Chaucer Society as well as president of TEAMS: Teaching Association for Medieval Studies

Tom Goodmann, President, TEAMS: Teaching Association for Medieval Studies

Richard Grant, Konadu-Agyemang Distinguished Scholar Award for Scholarship on Sub-Saharan Africa.  Association of American Geographers

Carl Hoff, Alumnus of the Year in Chemistry and Biology from the University of Missouri, Kansas City

Gail Ironson, Elected President, American Psychosomatic Society

Olga Korotkova, Professor of Physics, was elected as a 2021 Fellow to the Optical Society of America. Dr. Korotkova was also appointed a Cooper Fellow.

Annette LaGreca, Elected President, Society of Clinical Psychology, APA Division 12

Nicole Leeper Piquero, Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences Outstanding Mentor Award

Deb Lieberman, Elected Fellow, Society of Personality and Social Psychology

Herns Marcelin, Future of Democracy Residency Award, Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS), Stellenbosch, South Africa, February-June 2020

Rafael Nepomechie, Professor of Physics, was awarded a 3-year term as a Fulbright Specialist.

Martin Nesvig, Professor of History, is the winner of the 2020 Howard Cline Book Award from the Latin American Studies Association for his book, Promiscuous Power: An Unorthodox History of New Spain (University of Texas Press, 2018).

Kathryn Nowotny, Assistant Professor of Sociology, was elected Division Chair of the Drinking & Drugs Division by the Society for the Study of Social Problems.

Alexis Piquero, Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology, received a Lifetime Achievement Award in the Division of Developmental and Life-Course Criminology.

Alejandro Portes, Research Professor of Sociology, was elected President of the Eastern Sociological Society. Dr. Portes also received a Doctorate, honoris causa, from the University of Alicante, Spain.

Guido Ruggiero, Professor of History, has been awarded the Society for Italian Historical Studies Senior Scholar Citation for 2020. This award is given annually to a scholar for their "field-defining contributions" to Italian studies over the course of a career.

Guido Ruggiero, Society for Italian Historical Studies Senior Scholar Citation for 2020; the award is given annually to a scholar for their “field-defining contributions” to Italian studies over the course of a career.

Mihoko Suzuki, David Walker Memorial Fellowship in Early Modern History at the Bodleian Libraries in Oxford, England

Saneya Tawfik, Elected President, Association of Psychology Training Clinics