College of Arts Sciences Highlights Faculty Accomplishments at Recognition Reception

Dean Leonidas Bachas Named Cooper Fellows and Acknowledged Promotions and Awards of Tenure, Retirements

College of Arts Sciences Highlights Faculty Accomplishments at Recognition Reception
College of Arts & Sciences Dean Leonidas Bachas, Professor Chris Cosner, Professor Michael 
Antoni, Professor Hugh Thomas, Provost Thomas J. LeBlanc

The University of Miami College of Arts & Sciences honored its outstanding faculty at the annual Faculty Scholarly & Creative Activities Recognition Reception.

Dean Leonidas Bachas said, “Today, we recognize what is central to being a research university.”

Three tenured professors, appointed by the Dean, were named Cooper Fellows to receive research and teaching support for a three-year term – one of the highest honors in the College.

* Professor of Psychology Michael Antoni, an expert on stress management and health outcomes, and an exceptional mentor;

* Professor of Mathematics Chris Cosner, an expert on the development of mathematical models addressing the dispersal of organisms, the intersection of math and biology; and

*Professor of History Hugh Thomas, an expert on the history of Medieval Europe and of England, who has published four books and a number of articles.

Dean Bachas also announced three faculty members selected for Scholarly & Creative Activities Recognition Awards by the Senior Associate Deans of the College. William Pestle, anthropology; Wilson Shearin, classics; and Stefan Wuchty, computer science, received a stipend for research.

He congratulated the newly promoted and tenured faculty in the College: Berit Brogaard, appointed full professor with tenure, and Michelle Gonzalez Maldonado, promoted to full professor.

The following faculty members were promoted to associate professor with tenure: Ivan Albrecht, Jamie Walls, James Wilson, Jennifer Ferriss-Hill, John R. Funchion, Karl A. Gunther and Stephen R. Halsey. Lynne Katz was promoted to research associate professor.

Rod Gillis, Elizabeth Oldman, Samantha R. Phillips and Lani Shapton were promoted to senior lecturer.

Dean Bachas also honored the College’s retirees who will be transitioning to Emeritus status: Jane Connolly, modern languages and literatures; Robert Halberstein, anthropology; Stephen Sapp, religious studies; and Moshe Syrquin, international studies.

Scholarly and creative works, including books, were on display throughout the event.

April 30, 2015