Welcome to the Department of Philosophy at the University of Miami

The Philosophy Department offers a wide range of courses at the undergraduate level which cover every major area of philosophy as well as its history. Students can major or minor in the subject. In addition, the department sponsors two undergraduate philosophy organizations: the Philosophy Club, which is open to all UM undergraduates, and Phi Sigma Tau, a chapter of the National Honor Society in Philosophy. Both groups afford students regular opportunities to meet, eat, and talk philosophy with each other and with graduate students and faculty in the department. All undergraduates who are interested in philosophy are welcome to participate in these philosophical events.


Department News:

The Department of Philosophy is very excited to announce three new hires in our department!

Anjan Chakravartty has joined our department as Endowed Chair for the Study of Atheism, Humanism, and Secular Ethics. Click here for an article about the recent appointment.

Helen Yetter-Chappell and Richard Yetter Chappell will join our department in Spring 2019 as Assistant Professors.


Schedule of Philosophy Talks 2018-2019:

Colloquium Series: (All talks are from 12pm-2pm)

11/02   Zoltan Szabo (Yale) - Language/Logic Speaker

01/18   Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern) - Epistemology/Science Speaker

02/01   Susanna Siegel (Harvard) - Mind Speaker

02/22   Laurie Paul (UNC) - Metaphysics Speaker

03/08   Pamela Hieronymi (UCLA) - Value Theory Speaker


The Olazabal Lecture in Aesthetics:

02/15   Noel Carroll (CUNY)


Stanford Visiting Professor:

03/22   Francois Recanati

03/29   Francois Recanati


Additional Talks:

08/31   Luis Rosa (Cologne)