University of Miami Professor Elected to the Board of Directors of the Miami Scientific Italian Community 

Dr. Massimiliano Galeazzi, a professor and associate chair in the Physics Department at the University of Miami College of Arts and Sciences, was elected to the board of directors of the Miami Scientific Italian Community (MSIC). He will serve as the board’s secretary.

Dr. Massimilliano Galeazzi, professor of physics at the UM College of Arts and Sciences, was welcomed as secretary of the Board of Directors for the Miami Scientific Italian Community.
Dr. Massimiliano Galeazzi, Physics Department

MSIC is a non-profit organization of researchers as well as private and public institutions connecting universities and industries by promoting and supporting ideas of innovative technologies within the Italian scientific community in Florida. The organization also encourages development, research, and advancement of new synergies with Italy and the European Union.

“The Miami Italian Scientific Community provides a bridge between research institutions and industries to facilitate the transfer of technology and the collaboration between researchers from different backgrounds at an international level,” said Galeazzi. “The work of the Miami SIC leverages Miami’s unique geographic location and distinguished Italian academic community, combined with its rich academic and technological environment.”

Galeazzi, who is currently in charge of the experimental astrophysics lab at UM and the Principal Investigator of NASA’s DXL sounding rocket mission, has collaborated with the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) and NASA to develop an X-ray satellite designed to study deep space and X-ray radiation from galaxies millions of miles from Earth. His research centers on understanding the origin and structure of diffused X-ray radiation from our solar system and beyond.

Galeazzi earned his Ph.D. from the University of Genoa in 1999. He was recognized for his research with a faculty award from the UM College of Arts and Sciences in 2005 and was awarded the Robert H. Goddard (RHG) Exceptional Achievement Award by NASA in 2016 and the RHG Director’s Team Recognition Award in 2008



July 26, 2017